Election Information



  • Last day to Register to Vote - October 5, 2020
  • Early Voting in person STARTS - October 13, 2020
  • Early Voting in person ENDS - October 30, 2020
  • Election Day Voting - November 3, 2020

Early Voting Hours:


October 13 - October 30 2020 - 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Extended Hours: 

October 20 & 27, 2020 - 7:00 am - 7:00 pm

October 24, 2020 - 9:00 am - 3:00 pm

Please click here for a list of EARLY VOTING locations. 

Election Day Hours:

November 3, 2020 - 7:00 am - 7:00 pm

Please Click Here for a list of ELECTION DAY polling locations. 

*** Please Note that Atascosa County participates in Countywide Voting and you may vote at any of the shown locations. ***


Notice of Postponement of the May 2, 2020 General Election

On March 13, 2020, the Governor of the State of Texas certified that the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) poses an imminent threat of disaster and, under the authority vested in the Governor by Section 418.014 of the Texas Government Code, declared a state of disaster for all counties in Texas.

On March 18, 2020, the Governor issued a Proclamation suspending certain sections of the Texas Election Code, among others, to allow political subdivisions of the State that would otherwise hold elections on May 2, 2020, to postpone General and Special Elections to the next uniform election date, which will occur on November 3, 2020.

On March 23, 2020, the City Council of the City of Poteet at its Special Called Meeting voted to approve a Resolution to postpone the City’s May 2, 2020, General Election until November 3, 2020.

Please click here to view posted "Notice of Filing Deadlines" in English and Spanish.

Please click here to view posted "Order of Election" in English and Spanish.

Please click here to view posted " Notice of Previous Precinct" in English and Spanish. (Change in Polling Location)

The City of Poteet currently holds a Joint Election with Poteet ISD. Poteets’ General Election is in May of each year.

The City of Poteet citizens elect 5 City Council-Members and 1 Mayor. Each member will serve a two-year term, unless re-elected. 


Mayor                    2019-2021
Council Place 1     2018-2020
Council Place 2     2018-2020
Council Place 3     2018-2020
Council Place 4     2019-2021
Council Place 5     2019-2021

For more election information please contact City Secretary Abigayle Frautschi at  (830) 742-3574 Ex:102, email afrautschi@poteettexas.gov or come by City Hall, 491 Ave H Poteet, TX 78065